We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation and Public Power

Shady Comapany/Rude

(1 / 5)

  -10 Stars; My experience with Mega Energy has not been favorable. I am not a customer, nor do I want to be. I keep getting 5-6 calls per day, these calls appear to be cell phone #'s and some of these are numbers belonging to people that have no idea their numbers are being used for telemarketing. Spoofing is the correct term. I had one call that is the emergency gas leak # for my energy company and the individual on the other end insisted he was calling from Mega Energy. I have repeatedly asked to not be called anymore, which has turned out to be a waste of my time. Nor am I appreciative of the argumentative person on the other end.

K. Martin
March 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Non Stop Phone Calls

(1 / 5)

  This company in NO WAY should represent Duke Energy. They call my home 3-4 times each day with a different phone number listed. Have asked to be removed so many times and they just hang up. Duke needs to pull the plug on this company. FTC is my next stop.

robert daley
February 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Robo calls to customers on Duke Energy do not contact list

(1 / 5)

  I receive between 2 and 4 phone calls daily from someone identifying themselves as a Mega Energy employee. They call using a fake telephone number (local residential #) so you can not trace their call. I have asked repeatedly to be removed from their list to no avail. Some reps are pleasant, apologize and state they will remove my number. Others simply hang up when I ask to be removed. On occasion I receive a call from a local residence asking why I called. I guess Mega Energy has utilized my number when performing their scam calls. I would never do business with a company that drums up business this way even if they cut my rates by 50%!

Robert
January 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Mega Energy is a Slimy Scamming Company

(1 / 5)

  I am called 2-3 times daily from Mega Energy India outsourced call center, Mega Energy is cheap crap company and there India call center representatives will not take no for an answer. There so-called representatives will lie and claim they are from Duke Energy they are not and now they are Caller ID spoofing local area phone number to get you to answer your phone. Caller ID spoofing is the practice of causing the telephone network to indicate to the receiver of a call that the originator of the call is a local number not the true originating India outsourced call center. It's time to take a stand no more outsourced call centers! What ever you do never give these or anyone your energy account number because the next thing you know you will have changed energy providers. I will never understand why Ohio permitted this BS to go on, do not switch to Mega Energy they will raise rates they are nothing but lying scum.

Laura Bullion
January 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

how to stop robo calls from Mega Energy?

(1 / 5)

  They call using fake local phone numbers 3-4 times a day.I've asked them to remove me but they just keep calling.Reputable companies don't use fake phone numbers

mj
January 14th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolutely Happy!

(5 / 5)

  Every year when my energy plan is up for renewal I dread looking for the best rate pit there. A neighbor of mine referred me to Mega Energy and so I bit the bullet and called. The customer service rep was very polite, patient and helpful. I ended up signing up for 24 months in stead of 12 because the rate was a very decent rate. I access to online billing, auto draft, etc.
It was pain free. I have not had any issues with billing which was my main concern.

I would definitely refer this company to friends and family.

Alicia V.
November 6th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

#1

(5 / 5)

  Love the company, excellent rates and great customer service. I would highly recommend this to my friends and family!!!

Anonymous
November 3rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Questionable

(1.8 / 5)

  These people called today offering to "save" us money on our electric bill.
They told me "Obama has declared war on coal" and then quoted me a 5-month rate that was higher than what my utility company is currently charging. I calculated that I'd be paying them $11 *more* per month right off the bat!
They assured me that my utility company was planning a rate increase in a couple months and *then* I'd be saving money!
I can't see much benefit to paying Mega Energy more than I'm paying now for electricity in the hope that I might save money a few months from now, if and when my utility raises their rates, and if their rates go higher than Mega Energy's already higher rate.
My impression is they just piggy-back onto peoples' electric bills, charge more money, and that's how they make a living... off dumb people paying them the higher rates they charge.

No Fool
May 21st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nasty Unethical Company

(0.2 / 5)

  They sign you up for a certain rate and then switch it after four weeks. STAY AWAY!!!! They try to trick you. My poor husband spent hours on the phone dealing with them. You will regret doing business with Mega.

Lori K.
October 15th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TOP NOTCH COMPANY

(5 / 5)

  This retail electric provider, in my opinion, has one of the best assets a company can have: excellent customer service. Here is where customers are retained or lost and I certainly intend to keep renewing my contract over the coming years.

CJ
October 11th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY AWAY!

(1 / 5)

  Let me start by saying that I'm not the type of person who ever spends any bit of time writing reviews. But here I am, today. Due to a switch in banking bill pay software, a payment didn't go out when it should of. Immediately after receiving a notice from Mega Energy, I called them. I advised them of the situation, apologized for mix-up and told them that payment was remitted immediately (10 days late). They thanked me and said they have noted my account and everything was fine. Well... a few hours later, sure enough, the power company shows up and disconnects my service. I immediately called them, once again, and they said that the only thing that could be done would be for me to contact my bank, issue a stop payment on the online payment that I previously sent in the morning, pay them via credit card (and pay $9.95 to pay via credit card) and even then, all they could do would be to issue a 'reconnect' notice, which could take another day.

When I called, every time that I made a comment, I was put on hold so that the 'operator' could relay what I was saying with someone else. Then she'd return... and the process would continue.

There is no corporate office or anyone who can ever be reached, as there is only one number to 'who-knows-where' that is answered by 'who-knows-who'.

As a long-time customer who has always paid my bills, I find this to be ridiculous!
Fool me once, shame on you... Fool me twice, shame on me!

AW
September 25th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Double your bill after first month!

(1 / 5)

  Great for the first partial month cycle and then double your kWh price the next month. Even though powertochoose.org says 7 cents per kWh I was billed 15 cents per kWh. They suck.

J
September 22nd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT DO THE VARIABLE RATE PLAN!!!!!

(0 / 5)

  I just found this site - unforetunely I am a couple months too late. I signed up for a great 7.3 c/kwh variable rate deal, and when my 2nd bill showed up I see it has bumped me up to 15 c/kwh. I called to let them know there was an "error" beacuse the variable rate plan on the site had gone up to 8.7, but I was charged 15. They said I was "no longer on a plan because my contract was for 1 month. After that it goes to their defualt rate which is now 15 c/kwh." After arguing that my contract was month-to-month and should not have ended, they offered to do a partial credit if I signed up for one of their high-priced fixed rate plans. THEY SCREW YOU OVER AND THINK YOU'LL SIGN UP TO STICK WITH THEM!!! No F-ING WAY!!! Oh, and in case you are thinking about trying to take advantage of the deal for 1 month and then bail out - know that you'll be charged $6 just to pay your bill. The only way out is to sign up for auto-bill, but I did that and they told me the first month is considered a one-time payment and the month's following are when the auto-payments kick in (at which point they begin screwing you on rates). That's right, I called to complain twice about they're shady practices within 2 months - the first 2 complaints I've ever made to my energy company in my 10 years living in TX...

Jeremy
September 20th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Love Them

(4.6 / 5)

  For the most part, I've had absolutely no issues with the company. My contract period was coming to an end, and I called in because their rate jumped up. However, I held off renewing, and ended up with a better rate than I had. My electricity bill is consistently lower than my neighbors, who have other companies.

The customer service has always been top notch when I call in.

Michael R.
August 29th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Exellent Service!!

(5 / 5)

  Love the company, excellent rates and customer service.

Annonymous
August 23rd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

"Variable" rate is NOT variable - you will be gouged after the 1st month

(0 / 5)

  Wish I had found this review site before I signed up for their "Variable" rate plan. I had a great rate for one month and then they moved me to the Fixed Rate plan at a whopping 14.5 cents per kWh. I originally saw the offer on www.PowerToChoose.com website in the "Variable" area. I did not see the fine print which turned out to be "... you have chosen the Variable Rate Plan with a fixed rate" -- yes, they capitalized "Variable Rate" and did not capitalize the "fixed rate" wording. What makes this even worse is that I have to pay the obscene 14.5 cents per kWh rate for June and July when my usage is at peak. My advice -- just stay clear of this company.

Mark
July 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch

(1.4 / 5)

  They offer a low rate, which you will get for one billing period (just a fraction of a month if you have a smart meter), and then they will double the rate and attempt to trap you into a bad one-year contract by offering to retroactively adjust the rate. They give the whole market a bad name. Avoid!

Andrew Adams
July 17th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Skanky Business Practices

(1 / 5)

  I've got burned TWICE by this company!! Never, ever again! If you choose, them, and that's a big IF, only do the fixed rate plan. You will get bill shocked if you choose their Energy Only Plan or Variable Rate. Complete rip-off and confusing billing practices. Even when I had their fixed rate plan, it was always confusing to reconcile because they charged you fees for previous months. For example, in one month I had three $9.95 fees for previous months. I always had to call them to find out what the fee was charged for. Customer service should be title "customer non-service".

John
July 9th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Competitive prices, dirty tricks on billing

(1.7 / 5)

  Run from this provider. Their "deals" are too good to be true. Shortly after signing up, I
realized they offered only half the grace period of any other creditor I have (including credit
cards). I had a couple late fees due to this while I adjusted my process for paying bills to suit
this short schedule. They also charge me to save them time by paying my bill electronically
(many others don't do this). I renewed with them on the promise of a competitive rate (with
auto-pay). No mention of an auto-pay fee for this rate (assumed it was a policy change for
new customers). Only after I got my first bill on the new period did I realize "auto-pay" meant I
had to go on to their web site and sign up for auto-pay (with fee) even though I had renewed
on the "auto-pay" plan. Not only did this mean a late fee could easily have hit me, but it also
meant I was now locked into a year of online payment fees.

Nathan
May 5th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company is a RIP-OFF

(0.9 / 5)

  I signed a contract with Mega Energy in Dec 2011. I have had nothing
but problems with their billing system. After signing up for a rate, they
say they accidentally entered the incorrect rate (a higher rate into their
system) but could not explain how it happened. Two months ago, they
charged me a late fee when they had posted my payment on the day
that it was due. Last month, they failed to charge me the minimum
usage fee even though had not used 1000kWh. Even though I had
signed a 2 year contract with them, the customer service person, Gerri
Coleman corrected the rate but refused to honor the two year contract
period as originally signed online. I attempted today to pay by phone
and on the Mega internet site, only to find they would be charging me a
fee on $9.95 to pay by phone and $5.95 to pay on the internet site.
DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE. The company is poorly
managed and is a TOTAL RIP OFF.

Harry Scher
January 16th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions