We currently recommend electricity plans from Public Power and XOOM Energy

Fraudulent billing

(1 / 5)

  I was a direct energy customer for about 2 years, in which i closed my account in great standing not owing any balances. I wanted to use direct energy again for my electric provider, so i reached out to them. Of course the did the total new customer setup with running your SSN, for a soft credit check. The customer service rep, set me up with service gave me the same account number that i previously had and told me when me service would be active. A few days after i received a call that i owed more money. So with all this said, STAY AWAY FROM DIRECT ENERGY. Customer service is rude and unaware of correct information. They tried to hold me accountable for a bill that i paid in full.

Real writer
February 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Super

(5 / 5)

  Very satisfied with supplier

Art
February 10th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off

(1 / 5)

  They were fine until the contract was up. Decided not to renew when I realized customer service was in South America. When I got my last bill with them they put the energy charge way up. It increase about one third.

Cynthia Adams
February 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

get smart.

(4.8 / 5)

  very good for 2 yrs. now what for next 2 yrs?

george wagner
December 31st, 2019

Hi George, and thank you for the awesome star-ratings! If your initial 2 year agreement is coming to an end, please keep any eye out for your renewal information. It should be on the one of the last pages contained in your monthly billing statement approximately 2 statements prior to expiration. This will let you know what renewal options and promotions are available for you, and advise on how to accept a renewal offer. Please make sure to have this completed by the actual contract end date; if a renewal option is not selected, the account will roll into a month to month, variable rate plan. You may accept a renewal by contacting us using any of the methods listed here: https://www.hwahomewarranty.com/contact-us. Thank you, George, and have a wonderful week!

Direct Energy Responds January 7th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Energy Shoppers Review

(5 / 5)

  I Received my renewal notice, and compared prices, only to find Direct energy was more than some others for the same one year, no fee,no cancellation charge,plan. Based on that I checked with them and found that was the best they could do, but I was offered a $100.00 gift card, which made up the difference. That sweetener, sealed the deal, for me.

Paul Myers
December 9th, 2019

Thank you for opting to stay with us! We are pleased to have earned your trust, and we look forward to having you as our customer for may years to come. Have a wonderful day!

Direct Energy Responds December 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

natural gas

(4 / 5)

  this company has the best price and is easy to sign with no early termination fee

mike
November 18th, 2019

Thank you for the kind words, Mike! We are so pleased to know you are happy with the price and the plan that you have. Enjoy your holiday!

Direct Energy Responds December 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam Artists and illegal trade practices

(1 / 5)

  I am a former direct energy rep. I used to work for a company called Trust Energy in Calgary . I was told by the trainer and supervisor, Robin and Matt to hide the truth from the customers . I was asked to to fake the electricity and gas price to elderly people and newly landed immigrants as they are not aware of the energy market . The price is not fixed and it will go up in two months. They lock you in a contract and you if you wish to opt out later it's costs to you $4000 to get out of the contract and eventually messing up your credit.I quit the job because I couldn't lie to the customers anymore.

Avoid this company like plague. They lock you on a contract at a higher price. They provide you free electricity and gas for two months and then triple the price for the next five years.

Wish I never worked here as this company has a bad name and the trainers and supervisors asked me to lie and hide the truth.

Scam Artists and illegal trade practices
October 30th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  I did a live chat to check on rates to renew my plan and was very pleased with the service I received. Assisted me with a great rate. I did not want to switch plans because of the reliability and assistance I have always received.

Cheryl
October 24th, 2019

We are so thrilled that you had a smooth renewal experience! Thank you for sharing in this review, and have a wonderful holiday season!

Direct Energy Responds December 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

On-Line Chat GREAT!!!

(4.8 / 5)

  Thanks to Nery - we were able to resolve my doublepayment due to a quick finger and me not paying attention!!

KLW
October 23rd, 2019

Thank you for sharing this feedback, KLW, and for giving Nery a special shout-out! We will make sure that the management team is aware of the awesome service that you were provided. Have a wonderful day!

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great live chat experience.

(4.8 / 5)

  Had some issues with my online login and spent a fair amount of time on the phone with a rep. trying to straighten it out. After issue was resolved, I noticed that the current rate is much lower then what I am currently paying. Went to live chat and the rep. was very helpful and changed me over to the lower rate with no issues. Rep. was very professional and helpful.

Keith L.
October 22nd, 2019

Thank you for sharing this review, Keith! We are very happy to hear that you were able to secure an excellent rate for your renewal. We appreciate your loyalty, and wish you a wonderful holiday season!

Direct Energy Responds December 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Best!

(5 / 5)

  I've RECENTLY switched over from TXU, not only are the agents better, but they help you more as well, would definitely recommend, thank you Direct Energy!

yjl
October 10th, 2019

Thank you for the awesome endorsement, we are proud to have your support! We look forward to continuing to provide you with oustanding service for many years to come!

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy rating

(5 / 5)

  Easy to sign up.

Direct Energy review
October 10th, 2019

Excellent, thank you for sharing your experience! We look forward to providing you with outstanding service for many years to come. Have a wonderful day!

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible customer service

(1 / 5)

  The reps hang up in your face. I mean it's like it's a practice for this company. It is crazy. All of them have created a habit of just hanging up in your face.

Mesha
October 8th, 2019

Good afternoon, Mesha. It is very disappointing to hear that your call was disconnected, as that is certainly not the way we train our teams to conduct business. Please accept our sincere apologies, as well. If you would prefer to connect with a Live Chat agent, you can certainly do that by visiting our website at www.directenergy.com. Thank you for providing this feedback, Mesha, and we look forward to our next opportunity to serve you. Have a great weekend!

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not use this company!

(1 / 5)

  Over 30 minutes hold time to speak with customer service and they do not offer recommendations for issue resolution!
On line bill pay account is always locked and unable to process or submit payment!

Disappointed customer!
September 27th, 2019

We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than outstanding. Keep in mind if you have trouble getting through on the phone, you can connect with one of our Live Chat agents from our website at www.directenergy.com. Thank you for the feedback regarding the website; if your account is locked out, we can certainly assist with getting that resolved for you. Thank you for the review, and we hope you enjoy your holiday season!

Direct Energy Responds December 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied Customer

(5 / 5)

  Direct Energy had the best price for my needs and they provided all they promised.

Rosiern
September 25th, 2019

Thank you for sharing this review based on your personal experience, Rosie! This is exactly what we strive to achieve for each and every one of our customers, so we love to see the affirmation. We thank you, and wish you a wonderful weekend!

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No communication

(1.4 / 5)

  Hadn't received a bill in 3 months and couldn't understand why until I was notified of a change in my provider to another company, problem is, I did not authorize the switch to another company. I never even thought about switching until this whole fiasco. I was charged $40 after the situation was resolved, for what? I don't know. Looking to leave them asap.

Erica E.
September 17th, 2019

Hello, Erica. Finding out that you have been switched to another provider, without requesting the move, must have been incredibly frustrating for you. We are sorry to hear that this was your experience, but please keep in mind that Direct Energy is not able to initiate a switch on behalf of one of our customers. Any type of switch would have been initiated by the new company, so we would recommend contacting them for additional details. Thank you, Erica, and enjoy your day.

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Grifters

(1 / 5)

  In the month of August I was gone from the 7th to the 25th, received a bill for $108. and some change, my previous bill for the entire month was $111. and some change. When I left I turned off the air conditioner, not even a fan was on. So how do I end up with a bill that high. Told the csr that I was not home when I noticed the high usage and I wasn't home. I will not recommend this company to anyone. If I could give this company zero stars that would be my rating. Csr's are sometimes hard to understand, poor English. To ensure that I will not have to pay for early termination fee, I'm moving to an all bills paid apartment. People be ware of these people.

Janice Williams
September 14th, 2019

Hello, Janice. We are sorry to see that your experience thus far has been less than outstanding, and that it has caused you frustration. We agree that the scenario you described in the review doesn't really add up, and we would like to take a closer look with you and see if we can get things resolved. We were unable to locate your account with the limited amount of information provided in the review; if you would like to have us take another look at the account, please engage with one of our Live Chat agents via www.directenergy.com, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST. Or, if you prefer, email us directly at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Thank you, Janice, and we hope to hear from you!

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Solicitation

(1 / 5)

  I had a representative stop by my house today wanted me to change my gas and electric plans to direct energy I asked for more information and contact info upon doing this the solicitor became angry and stormed off and told me to enjoy my variable rates great business model direct energy send solicitors out around dinner time and have them tell off possible customers

Matt
September 12th, 2019

Hi Matt, and thank you for letting us know about the experience you had today. This is clearly not the behavior we would expect from our door to door personnel, or any other employee, for that matter. We are sorry that you were treated disrespectfully, and appreciate you taking to alert us to the situation. Thank you, Matt, and have a great night.

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

0- HORRIBLE SERVICE & COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  0- HORRIBLE!!!! STAY AWAY, they are a RIP OFF and they LIE!!!would give it a 0 but can't it just let me give it a 1 My bill is so high and no one is at home from 7am -6pm and supposedly my day time usage and free night time are almost the same that's bull can't understand that my thermostat is set @ 82 while no one is at home and @78 after 6pm while at home There costs for kWH are not true. Barley switch and the bill scared me off wish I hadn't switch with them thinking they had a good deal, NOT!!!! Called customer service and they just wanna switch you plans

Martaarechiga60@gmail.com
September 11th, 2019

Good afternoon. We hate to hear that your bill was higher than you had anticipated, and can certainly understand the frustration that goes along with the situation. Our intention is always to operate in a truthful and transparent manner, so we take any suggestion of lying or misleading our customers very seriously. We were not able to locate your account based on the limited information connected to the review, so we would ask for you to contact us directly with your information. We are happy to look into this with you and see if we can clear up any outstanding questions or concerns. We would also like to review the account and your usage, to ensure that you are on the plan that best suits your needs. Please contact our Customer Service Department toll free at 1-866-348-4193, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. CST and Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST. You may also engage with one of our Live Chat agents via www.directenergy.com if you prefer. Chat agents are available Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Weekends on Command Plan

(1.8 / 5)

  Worst decision I have ever made when it comes to choosing an energy provider. We signed up for the nights on command and then when I logged into my account it said we signed up for the weekends of command plan. I had not even heard of the weekends on command plan before and was upset then confused. We tried calling about that but decided to just stay with the plan because it was more convenient. Our bill the first month was $37.00 and our landlord and neighbors said that is pretty normal and at most the bill gets to $60.00 with their energy providers. The bill then jumped to $123.00, then $137.00 the next month. I tried calling to see if this was a mistake because we are not home most of the day during the week, and do not use lights during the day when we are home because we have so many windows. We even unplug almost everything in the house! The only thing we leave on all day is one window A/C unit for our dog. Our house is barely 600 sq ft, with no central heating and cooling, so this price was outrageous. We tried calling to see if there was a mistake but the lady on the phone just kept trying to explain how to use the website... I know how to use the website. She was no help at all and we are switching. We were told it would be a $139.00 cancellation fee which we were fine with, but then decided to tack on 6 different fees to that making it $217.00! Seriously, this energy company has terrible customer service, is over priced, and will screw you over with crazy additional fees never mentioned in the contract.

Noel
August 7th, 2019

HI Noel,

We apologize for the confusion regarding the Weekends on Command rate plan. The free weekend time frame is from 6pm Friday until 1159pm Sunday CST. Non-free weekends are 12am Monday until 559pm Friday CST. You are charged during the non-free weekend time frame and you receive a monthly bill credit for the free weekend time frame. If you would like further clarification on this rate plan or wish to discuss alternative rate plans with a lower cost, please feel free to reach out to us by phone or live chat.

Direct Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions