The best review categories for Town Square Energy are their billing & account management system, with an average of 2.8 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 2.2 stars.

Recent Good Review from Harry

An outstanding customer service representative
Today I spoke with Miriam, who assisted me in signing up for Town Square Energy. She was professional, patient, answered all my questions, helped me to understand what to expect as I signed up and had a positive, friendly attitude throughout our conversation.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Harry from Middletown, CT on June 19th, 2020


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
An outstanding customer service representative
Today I spoke with Miriam, who assisted me in signing up for Town Square Energy. She was professional, patient, answered all my questions, helped me to understand what to expect as I signed up and had a positive, friendly attitude throughout our conversation.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Harry from Middletown, CT on June 19th, 2020
Awesome 3rd Party Supplier
Enrollment is easy. They don't jack up your price at the end of your term. Zero fees. Enrollment was free. I can also switch to another rate they offer at anytime.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

K Meyers. from Hartford, CT on March 25th, 2017



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great company
It was easy to pick a plan. Good prices and could change at any time
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Electric User from Moosup on November 21st, 2016



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
A bad company misleads consumers
Town Square policy misleads customers with its option to choose their supplier. Up until last year, there was a 2-week window for changing to a supplier with a more competitive rate. Now I ve been told that any change of supplier must be put in place within 2-3 billing cycles of the existing contract. The catch is that most suppliers require a commitment of a 4-6 months contract and any request to switch sooner involves a $50 cancellation fee. Town Square has out its customers over a barrel with the result that they never know of a good time to switch. I have ended up sticking with the Town Square energy supply rate; no surprise that this Town Square standard rate is the highest out there. Town Square should do better than this for its customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ran Eytan from Canton, CT on February 2nd, 2020



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Amazon Gift Card Scam
I got a StopYourShock.com coupon from ValPack for a $50 Amazon Gift Card. I selected the cheapest introductory rate with Town Square Energy and the website accepted the code and processed my enrollment with Town Square Energy. I received an acceptance email without mention of the Gift Card. I then emailed Town Square Energy and they said the plan I had selected did not qualify. This was not mentioned in the coupon ad and there was plenty of room to add it. Instead, the coupon referred customers to their website to see the full details and terms of service. Total scam and it has been going on for years. You can see older complaints.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Karma from Madison, CT on April 16th, 2021
With co. 3 mos. Over 25% increase-more than UI!
Was given a fixed rate of .0795kWh 3 mos. ago. Was just informed it was increasing next mo. to .1198/kWh next mo. UIs rate is less than that. Was assured this wouldnt happen as had happened to me with another co.(although I had at least been w/that co. over a year). Will stay w/UI now as I really think these suppliers are scammers!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Colleen Grotti from Stratford, CT on January 6th, 2020
Deceptive Coupon Practice at Town Square Energy
I responded to a coupon sent to me in a mailer for Town Square Energy. The offer was for a free $50. Amazon gift card if I signed up on StopYourShock.com and used a certain coupon code. I followed the steps and enrolled using the code. After the service started I inquired about the free Amazon gift card. I was told, the code cannot be used for the plan I selected. This was covered under the fine print that stated "certain restrictions apply." To get the gift card, I needed to select an all renewable energy plan. No where on the coupon does it state this. At no time during the application on StopYourShock.com did this requirement communicated to me. In fact the website accepted the coupon code and signed me up. Little did I know that Town Square had no intentions on giving me the free $50. Amazon gift card. They just want the sign-ups and then rely on the fine print: "certain restrictions apply" to weasel out of sending the gift card.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CT Energy Consumer from Trumbull, CT on May 1st, 2019
Worst telemarketer
I'm getting a telemarketing call from Town Square Energy nearly every day. I tell them I'm not interested and to stop calling (I'm on the do not call list), but to no avail. They are now worse than the "Rachel from Cardholder Services)" scam.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Raychel from Granby, CT on September 27th, 2017



Electric Plans & Rates


All Plans
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Monthly Recurring Charge
The 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
10.99¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
14.59¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
13 Month Fixed Rate
13 month
Fixed Rate
11.39¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
11 Month Fixed Rate
11 month
Fixed Rate
11.49¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
11.59¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
  • Rates are for new customers only
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.29¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge
  • NEW CUSTOMERS ONLY!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.89¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    10.49¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    10.69¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge
  • Rates are for new customers only
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    10.99¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge
  • Rates are for new customers only
  • 18 Month Fixed Rate
    18 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.49¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge
  • NEW CUSTOMERS ONLY!
  • 14 Month Fixed Rate
    14 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.29¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.19¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.19¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.29¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.09¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.49¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.49¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.69¢ / kwh
    $0.00 monthly recurring charge