We currently recommend electricity plans from Starion Energy, Public Power, XOOM Energy and Constellation

Love the simply flat plan!!

(5 / 5)

  This company offers me an amazing rate, I heard about the simply flat plan on the radio and was thinking, that sounds way too good to be true, the monthly rate must be ridiculous, right? WRONG... the rate was great! I went online just to see and signed up immediately, they only charged me $5 more than the base price (what my previous electric company charged before any usage) for my previous electric company! What?! Hopefully there won't be a dramatic price hike when it comes to renewal, but I have been thrilled with Cirro thus far.

Dustie Pittman
February 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Corrupt and crooked

(1.2 / 5)

  This place allowed fraud and Theft. They allowed someone to steal someone's identity and open an account with them without verifying any of the information from the suspect over a year ago I provided police reports and every provided documentation that they ask for to prove that I never opened the account I accrued over $300 worth of expenses fighting them proving that it wasn't me and they refuse to reimburse me for my expenses this company is crooked and corrupt they sent me to collections twice damaging my credit score and ruining my reputation

Alex
February 7th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro took over the company I was with.

(1 / 5)

  Sketchy. 100%

Wont send me a letter of credit, (I have a credit freeze due to my identity being stolen last year and I need the letter to not pay a deposit elsewhere).. hangs up on me when trying to ask questions about different plans, and have charged me whatever they wanted since I got out of contract. My electric bill went from about $125 to $300 once I was out of contract, and I had used less power the month I paid $300 than the month I paid $125.

Rachel
February 5th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid Cirro Energy At All Cost

(1 / 5)

  The price rate is high and I found a plan significantly lower and decided to switch. Before switching I went on their website to see when my current contract would end and switched to a new company on the date the website provided me as my contract end date. I then received a $200 cancelation charge. I contacted them to explain that I checked my account on their website to ensure I did not switch companies until my contract provided and one guy I spoke with stated that the date listed as my end date was exactly just the end date for the first part of my contract. I explained to him I trusted their website to provide me with accurate information and I relied on that. I then spoke to his supervisor who told me "You have no proof of what you are saying" and then requested that I send him a screenshot of what I saw. Why would I have taken a screenshot of it?!?! I was a customer of theirs for 9 years and at the end of the day they were not willing to make right THEIR error.

Dee
January 22nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Autopay fail followed by ripoff

(1 / 5)

  I had been a customer for years. In October of 2019 I received an email notifying me that a payment was not made on autopay. It seems my card on file had expired. I went to their website and made the payment with my new card and updated my card on file for autopay. The site was glitchy and I had to re-enter my information twice before it registered. So now it is January 6 and my service has been disconnected. Since I am on paperless billing I receive a communication through my email. Apparently something went wrong with the autopay yet I was not notified by email. Instead they just added late fees for two months and sent a disconnect notice in the mail some time in December. Since my mail is being forwarded at the moment I only received the mail today January 6. When I explained I that I received no notification by email and that the website was having problems I expected them to remove the fees and reinstate my service. My customer service representative for this transaction was Nestor and the supervisor he consulted with the issue was Jorge Rodriguez. Apparently Mr Rodriguez and Cirro wish to take no responsibility for their problematic website and offered no reconciliation for the fees or the lack of communication that anything was wrong with the account. I will never use Cirro again. I paid their little 160$ fees and am taking my business elsewhere. I hope this helps someone choose a better company to do business with. You have many options and this company takes no responsibility for their own issues nor do they appreciate their loyal customers. I hope they go out of business soon.

Victim
January 6th, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry that you had an unsatisfactory experience with our customer service team. If you would like for us to look into this issue further, please contact us at feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF #1708 and additional information.

Cirro Energy Responds January 8th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fraud! Customers beware

(1 / 5)

  My bill was Cleary incorrect because of a bad smartmeter that was changed in the middle of the month. 1923 kWh for 2wks compared to 866 kW for last 2wks. I spoke with Jose employee #9809 and he was no help whatsoever. Even after comparing to other correct readings he still would not budge. Extremely obvious they are frauds. I will be changing companies. Customers beware!!

Manuel
November 2nd, 2019

We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Cirro Energy, Manuel. Please send us an email at feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF #1709 and additional information.

Cirro Energy Responds January 8th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Incorrect Information about plans

(1.4 / 5)

  We had been with Cirro energy for a year and when our current plan was set to expire, I spoke with a Cirro agent the suggested a plan that she said would only be a small amount more than my current plan, WRONG! My next bill was nearly double what I had paid and I had used less electricity. When I called about the bill, they were surprised that the agent had suggested said plan, but they were not willing to change me to a plan better suited for my house size and usage without the $200 change fee...even if I stayed with their company! Unbelievable. I spoke with 2 agents and I emailed CS to no avail. I would not recommend Cirro!

Harper
October 24th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing Problems at Cirro Energy

(1 / 5)

  I never signed up with Cirro Energy. They purchased my contract from Volterra Energy shortly after I signed up with Volterra. The customer service at Cirro Energy is a joke. So many lies. I ended my service on September 24, 2019. They charged me twice for the same month and then claim they issued a refund to my credit card for the duplicate charge on September 30. That is a lie.

Their billing department is incompetent. I initiated a chargeback on my credit card because they lied about issuing a refund to me 3 weeks ago. Everyone should do themselves a favor - NEVER NEVER sign up with Cirro Energy. Too many better options available to deal with these people.

Jeff
October 22nd, 2019

We're sorry that you're experiencing billing issues. Please email us at feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF #1706 and additional information with your account information so that we can investigate this issue further.

Cirro Energy Responds October 23rd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad company, high rate and they over charge

(1 / 5)

  Bad company, high rate and they over charge

Jitu
October 19th, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to go over usage with you. Please email us at feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF #1707 and additional information.

Cirro Energy Responds October 23rd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible

(1 / 5)

  I signed up for Cirro Energy on 05/23/2018 and the services were connected on 05/24/2019 for the Smart 24 for 0.099 per kwh. On June 4,2019 while we were waiting to close on our new house, the ac went it. We purchased 2 (small) portable ac units and still received a bill for $274. We moved into our new home on 06/29/2019 so the month of June we did not have any ac. The first bill I received was almost $300. I work from home and I am here all day alone until around 9 pm or after. The next bill I received was for $486. I called and was told my rate was 0.12 per kwh. The first time I called I was told it was the transfer fee. I called again and was told that it was system glitch. I am now waiting for them to fix the issue and I was told that it would take 1-2 billing cycles. My only concern is my lights being cut off and I work from home and I have a child. I read the reviews after this incident and I DO NOT trust these people one bit. I am looking into other services as we speak. I wish I could give negative stars.

Horrified
August 20th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not recommend! Zero ratings would be better than a 1 Star

(1.8 / 5)

  Back story: I purchased a smart plan 1 year ago with no issues and the process to connect energy was very easy. The billing/managment/customer service representatives however are another story. We receive paper bills and electronic emails for our account. On 2 separate occasions our payment was scheduled and subsequently cancled by Cirro Energy due to some sort of "problem" in the billing cycle. An email or phone call was never made to notify us which subsequently resulted in a disconnection notice being charge and late payments. Our payments had been late a few times but always paid. Automatic payments with our accounts (credit card and a checking account) do not work and their customer service team had been unable to remedy the situation.

Most recently we recieved a disconnection notice having never been told the payment never processed resulting in a disconnection of our power the next morning. Oh by the way its the middle of summer and we have 2 month old and family visiting... Again customer service said nothing except for "Sorry" nor did they give a time frame for when power would be reconnected due to the mistake in the billing process.

If you want to save some pain and time dealing with your electric company do not go with Cirro Energy, it's not worth your time or money for the pure lack of survice and insufficitent/unreliable billing system.

If Cirro responds to this review; pay close attention to how they plan to offer to make these problems right and whether or not they take ownership of their companies lacking customer service/support.

Chris
July 2nd, 2019

Hi Chris, this isn't the experience we want for our loyal customers. We apologize for the billing issues and would like the chance to address them. Please email us at feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF #1705 and additional information.

Cirro Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They Are Much Improved

(3.6 / 5)

  Had a bad start w/their independent vetting agency on sign up, and they are aware, however if your a responsible payer (no excuses for not watching your finances) they have been great to both my neighbor and myself. They came through on a difficult circumstance where my neighbor was scammed by Smart Energy, while she was a contracted Cirro customer, and they came through w/flying colors. She is still w/Cirro now.

Great Company if your $Responsible
May 19th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Continuing Failure of Accounting Department To Accurately Record Payments

(2 / 5)

  Month after month Cirro Energy sends out late notices when in fact the payment are received several days before the due date. It appears they either don't log the payments when they are received, or they don't deposit the payment until after the due date in order to illegally charge late fees.

Wayne Boyce
April 6th, 2019

Hi Wayne, this is not the experience we want for our customers, and we'd appreciate the opportunity to further investigate. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account number and contact information so we may look into this.

Cirro Energy Responds May 1st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No bill comparison yet, but seems good

(4.2 / 5)

  Title says it.

Greg
February 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible company with horrible processes

(1 / 5)

  For dec billing i was on autopay and somehow my card got declined. Cirro did not even give me the courtsey of a call or email telling me that the payment did not go through and within 5 business days they shut off my electricity. I was out with my kids in the cold and trying to call them and then they tell me that my payment was declined. On top of that to cover their asses they lied they had sent an email and i get an email the next day morning saying my card was declined after i had already restored power.

I never choose Cirro energy as my provider but my account was sold to them through Pioneer Energy and now I am stuck in a contract with a company which sucks and doesn't even inform the owners and shuts down the power.

Horrible customer service and experience with the company

PS
January 16th, 2019

Thank you for bringing your issue to our attention. This is not the experience we want for our loyal customers. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF# 1701, and contact information.

Cirro Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not sign up with Cirro Energy....The customer service sucks!

(1 / 5)

  The Cirro Energy recently merge with Power Express and they bill me twice for one month. Once by Power Express and again by Cirro Energy, each for 15 days interval. I had a contract with Power Express to receive $80 rebates if my usage was more than 800 kwh, Power Express honored the contract and refund me $40 for 1/2 month. Cirro Energy refused to honor it even though they indicated that my contract with Power Express will be honored with same term and pricing. I spend 1/2 hours talking to Cirro Energy customer service without any resolution. This was my first dealing with them and they are terrible company. Stay away from them....

Abby B
January 7th, 2019

Hi Abby, we're sorry to hear you're unhappy with your plan. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF# 1702, and contact information so we may assist you.

Cirro Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro is horrible

(1 / 5)

  I switched to Cirro in August. Everyone of my Bill's have come late. Every bill o get sent a 10 disconnect notice charge and a 15 late fee. I tried to pay my November bill online and was told my credit card expired that I had originally set up my account with. There is no place on the website for me to update my credit card nor can I chose auto pay. Every month I have to pay over phone. I should of never switched from my previous provider. I was with them 5 years and never had any issues. I switched to save money and so far I have paid 100 in bs fees.

Chris
December 20th, 2018

Hi Chris, we're sorry to learn of these billing issues. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF# 1703, and contact information so we may look into this.

Cirro Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't get levelized billing

(1.8 / 5)

  Went to levelized monthly billing and they charged me the monthly charge after one week saying that was when the meter was read. Never explained that to me when I signed on.Not cool but I should have expected it.

Ronny P
December 10th, 2018

Thank you for bringing your issue to our attention. This is not the experience we want for our loyal customers. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF# 1704, and contact information.

Cirro Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What a joke

(1 / 5)

  We were involuntarily switched to Cirro when they bought the provider we were with. After two months of not receiving a bill, welcome letter, anything, I tracked down whom I was switched to in order to avoid service interruption. They had been sending it to a completely different address. I set up an online account and it showed that I was in a contract with them until October 1st, 2018. Since the rate was higher than the going rate, I made a note to contact them. On Oct 6th I logged in to see what number to call to discuss a new plan and saw that my bill had jumped up 7 cents per kilowatt. What???? Ok, the contract is out, I'll get that fixed. I call and proceed to have the most asinine conversation. First they tell me that I was month to month and didn't have a contract. I pointed out that my online profile says that I do. He looks. Him - Oh, that just means that the rate you were paying wouldn't go up before that date but it wasn't a contract. Me - then why is listed as the "CONTRACT END DATE"? Him - thats just what we call it but its not a contract. ??????? Me - Ok, the contract that isn't really a contract ended on Oct 1st and my statement was generated on Oct 3rd but ya'll charged me the increased rate for the entire period, not just the 2 days. Can we get this fixed? Him - No, unfortunately we can't have two rates in a period. Me - So you're telling me that you are going to charge me an EXTRA $150 because I didn't cancel my contract that wasn't really a contract on the expiration day (but not really because it wasn't a contract)? Him - Well, if you sign up for a 24 month plan, I can see if I can get the rate retroactive to the 3rd. Me - And what about the overcharge on the current bill? Him - No, I'm sorry, I can't adjust that. Me - You honestly think I would sign a contract with you when you are overcharging me by $150 right now???? Him - There's nothing I can do.

By the way, this was a supervisor. I hope he doesn't have an employment contract that turns out not to really be a contract.

Heather
October 12th, 2018

Thank you for reaching out. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to investigate this issue. Will you please email Feedback@CirroEnergy.com with your account number, REF# 1503-2 and the best phone number to reach you at so we may locate the account, escalate this issue for review and reach out to assist?

Cirro Energy Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro Energy Inconsistent With Electricity Facts Label Terms Disclosure

(1 / 5)

 
Cirro Energy, (parent company is NRG [U.S. Retailers L.L.C.] which is the largest retail electric provider in Texas with subsidiaries Reliant Energy, Green Mountain, and Pennywise), bought out another electric company that I had a contract with, Pioneer Energy. In the Houston Chronicle in the Energy section on August 1, 2018, they quoted spokeswoman Pat Hammond, Cirro will honor the contract terms including the price of energy for the duration of the contracts.
On August 21st, 2018, Cirro took over my electric services and on that same date, I received an email telling me I was now enrolled in a Cirro plan called Smart Simple 36 that after talking to Cirro customer service representatives, was told consisted of 12.9 cents per kWh for three years rather than my Pioneer contract that is one year at 8.34 cents per kWh. I was told repeatedly for over a month by Cirro representatives that Pioneer Energy had submitted my contract information that showed that my contract was 12.9 cents kWh for 3 years. This was in spite of my submitting by email to: service@care.cirroenergy.com, my copies of Pioneers Electricity Facts Label, Terms of Service and Rights as a Customer. Also I was told by Pioneer that they had submitted the correct paperwork and to wait and see if they bill me correctly. I was billed according to the Pioneer contract but on the bill, it still showed my plan as Smart Secure 36. During this time, the Texas Public Utility Commission (PUC) was involved.
Then on September 20, 2018, Cirro emailed me a copy of my contract that was supposed to have been revised but it STILL showed 12.9 cents per kWh for 3 years. The following day, I received a phone call from Cirros headquarters in Plano, TX, who again told me that my former company, Pioneer Energy, had sent my contract information to Cirro, that showed it to be 12.9 cents per kWh for 3 years. Then after I showed the PUC the most recent contract sent by Cirro, Cirros management told the PUC that they had accidentally sent the wrong contract!
Cirro sent another contract but it STILL shows the length of the contract for 3 years. The Texas PUC closed out the complaint anyway, just citing them only for inconsistencies with the Electricity Facts Label (EFL) Terms disclosure and recommended Cirro provide me with a corrected EFL that shows the correct terms. This Texas PUC report was written on 9/24/2018 and I also requested a corrected EFL, but I am still waiting for the Electricity Facts Label that reflects my actual Pioneer Energy terms!
I do not understand how a legal contract that is to be honored and was specifically written into the terms of the buyout, is not cause for regulatory agencies like the Texas PUC to take more definitive action to protect consumer rights. I was in this complaint process for over a month with the Texas PUC and Cirro, but instead of Cirro immediately sending the corrected contract that very first day of the complaint, I waited over a full month to finally get a slightly modified contract that STILL was not corrected to the terms of my previous contract with Pioneer!
And still the Texas PUC closed it out!
Also a fair warning to everyone: whenever you sign up for any electricity service, it is imperative that you save a copy of your Electricity Facts Label as this is your legal contract with that company and without it, unethical companies like NRG and their subsidiaries can, at will, tell customers that the contract information received from the former electricity company is more costly and for longer lengths than what your actual contract terms actually were, and trap you into contracts that are not legal if you dont protect yourself.
So, in closing, how would you define the problem? Would you define it like the Texas PUC, as only an inconsistency by Cirro Energy to disclose what my contract terms were after the buyout? Or do you see this as a more serious issue for Cirro customers?

Tired of Tone-Deaf Companies
October 10th, 2018

Thank you for reaching out. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to investigate this issue. Will you please email Feedback@CirroEnergy.com with your account number, REF# 1701 and the best phone number to reach you at so we may locate the account, escalate this issue for review and reach out to assist?

Cirro Energy Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions