Direct Energy Logo
PURA# : 06-03-06

We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation and Public Power

Dishonest cons

(1 / 5)

  They doubled my rate without notice I will never do business with them again!

Lee M.
February 23rd, 2019

We are sorry to hear that Lee! We do send renewal information out 30 days prior to ending by mail and email. Please reach out to us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account information and we would be happy to help locate a more affordable rate! Thanks- Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Why I went to another provider

(4.2 / 5)

  Perfectly happy with entire experience until service contract expired. If customer service had contacted me and offered same rate, I would still be a customer. Signed with another service then get your offer for a lower rate. Sorry.

Elizabeth Reinker
February 18th, 2019

Thanks for the great feedback Elizabeth! We hate to see we lost your business but we would love a chance to make things right! Email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and we would be happy to see options for you :) - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Keep an eye on your bill

(1.2 / 5)

  I was on a fixed rate plan for my house with Direct Energy. When the fixed rate contract ended I did not sign up for another fixed rate contract and was automatically shifted to market rate pricing. Over time their "Market Rate" has crept higher and higher each month. My shop, an couple hundred yards from the house, is on a market rate plan with Ambit New York. The rate charged on my February bill from Ambit is .05902. The rate from Direct Energy is .174487. Nearly 3 times higher! So, what is the true market price? Is Ambit selling power at less than market value? I doubt it.

Dave
February 15th, 2019

Hi Dave. We understand how important it is to keep prices down. Market rates change multiple times during the year which is why our customers can lock into a price thats guaranteed for 12, 24, or even 36 months in some cases. We would be happy to help locate rate options in your area. Just email your account information to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and we will follow up! Thanks, Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WOULD GIVE A F- F- F- IF I COULD

(1 / 5)

  NOT ONLY IS DIRECT ENERGY LIARS, THIEVES AND HYPOCRITES BUT THEY ARE STOKER'S TOO. THIS COMPANY HAS CALLED AND CALLED ME AFTER I DIRECTLY ASKED THEM NOT TO EVER CALL ME AGAIN. THEY USE NUMEROUS NUMBERS EVERY TIME I BLOCKED THEM AND EVEN AFTER I REPORTED THEM. MY BILL CLIMBED 150% AFTER GOING WITH THEM. THEY TOLD ME ONE AMOUNT AND THEN CHARGED ME A HIGH RATE ABOVE OUR AGREEMENT, NEVER SENDING ME THE WRITTEN AGREEMENT AS PROMISED EITHER. THIS COMPANY IS A LIAR, A THIEF AND STOKERS! NEVER EVER GO WITH THEM! LEARN FROM MY MISTAKE PEOPLE!!!

AUDREY
February 15th, 2019

Audrey, We do not promote this type of behavior and would like to address this asap. Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account information/phone and we will work to get you added to our Do Not Call list. Thanks, Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019

Allie you say your company does not promote this type of behavior but as a matter of fact it has occurred time and again as stated herein even after I told your company do not contact me again and again and even after I reported your company for harassment and stocking by phone. I will not contact your company as I want absolutely nothing to do with your company. If you look up Audrey Paskell you will find my phone number and account information and from there place me on the "Do Not Call List" Your company are LIARS and thieves as well! Please remind your company to stop calling me! Thank you!

AUDREY Replies February 28th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service is outsourced and hard to reach

(1.8 / 5)

  The only feasible way to connect to Direct Energy customer service is via phone - the online chat option is a joke as the wait time is very long. The customer service is outsourced and poorly trained (thank you for creating US jobs. NOT). Also, you can ONLY contact them during the week so if there is an emergency you're kind of screwed. I am planning on giving this company one last chance before I cancel, even though my mind is sort of already made up.

LA
February 13th, 2019

Thanks for the feedback LA. We currently are available Monday-Friday 8-5pm and are working to improve our online experience. For now our customers can call, chat, or email us. Thanks for giving us another chance to win you over! - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Perfect service

(5 / 5)

  This company is amazing, not just the plans they offer but the customer service as well.

ashley
February 12th, 2019

Thanks for the positive review Ashley! We appreciate you :) - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont do it!

(1.4 / 5)

  These guys will triple your rate if you don't get the official notification that your term is up. We just got a bill on their variable at 10.10 per mcf cant believe this price gauge is legal. Stick with local provider! Customer service agent even felt bad and couldn't resolve it! not worth the switch, cheaper to cancel than get stuck with this bill in January. Will also report to BBB.

Price gauging in the end
February 7th, 2019

Good Afternoon,

We wanted to take a moment to apologize that your experience has been less than exceptional and would like to assist you in properly addressing your concerns. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction.
In reference to rates, we issue a renewal notice within 60-90 days prior to your contract expiration date. Renewal rates are also displayed in the online portal for your review until the account has been renewed. If the account is not renewed by expiration, you are automatically placed on the month to month variable rate, as legally we are not able to place your account on a new contract without your consent. We do apologize if this was not previously explained thoroughly.

-Marie

Direct Energy Responds May 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good company, getting better

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been with Direct Energy for 8 or 9 years now and, except for a few minor issues, have been pretty happy with their service. I use the live chat feature most of the time but, if I have to call customer service, I am usually not on hold too long at all and it doesn't take long to resolve whatever the problem is. The rates are a little higher than some lesser known providers but given the lesser known providers ratings, the higher rates are probably going to be worth it. In fact, my contract with Direct Energy expires this month and I had been shopping around for an electric provider with a lower rate but decided to go ahead and stay for that reason. All the providers offering lower rates had terrible ratings and customer reviews. I also found a few outrageous hidden costs and fine print nightmares among some of the lesser known providers. I would rather pay a few cents more and avoid having to battle with some other company's customer service department about a promise they made at signup they failed to deliver afterwards.

Jennifer
February 6th, 2019

Good Afternoon Jennifer,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide an exceptional rating based on your experience with us. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction. Please feel free to reach out to one of our live chat agents with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thank you again and have an amazing day!

-Marie

Direct Energy Responds May 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy is the best!

(5 / 5)

  I was completely satisfied with Direct Energy and their ability to work with me on my account and rate. Chez was extremely helpful. I couldn't have asked for better service. Anyone considering an electric supplier, Direct Energy cares about their customers.

Christian Nauman Jr
February 6th, 2019

Hi Christian,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide an exceptional rating based on your experience with us. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction. Please feel free to reach out to us via phone or Live Chat on our website with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thanks and have a wonderful day!

-Marie

Direct Energy Responds May 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service

(5 / 5)

  I used the Chat Now option to ask a question about my renewal. It was fast and easy. Javier answered all my questions in a friendly fast manner. Renewed for 2 more years!

Jessica
February 5th, 2019

Hi Jessica,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a wonderful rating based on your personal experience with our company. We certainly value you as a customer and look forward to servicing your future needs.

-Marie

Direct Energy Responds May 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  Excellent customer service, always helpful when I need them.

Tricia
February 1st, 2019

Good Afternoon Tricia,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide an exceptional rating based on your experience with us. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction.
Please feel free to reach out to us via phone or Live Chat on our website with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thanks and have a wonderful day!

-Marie

Direct Energy Responds May 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Waste of money.

(2 / 5)

  I ALWAYS have my lights turned off(never left on)and never have much plugged in but my wifi box 24/7 and sometimes my Tv & Xbox only when im watching tv other then that they are unplugged so concerve electricity and i still use almost $3-$4 dollars a day but the days i seem to use more electricity i use less money which I dont understand and it seems like the more money i put onto my account the faster it runs out and the more money i use . Honestly going to switch companys tomorrow when i get paid . This company is a waste of money

Kayla bishop
January 27th, 2019

Hi Kayla, There are many factors that can lead to an increase in your usage such as weather, connected devices, and general usage. We would be happy to look over your account for the best resolution to cut cost. Please email us your account information at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. -Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renewing Contract

(3.2 / 5)

  I have tried to contact Direct Energy for 2 days to renew contract. It appears that the low rate is only available to new customers. I have been with them for 5 yrs and went online to do a Chat but each time I am told 6 people in the Que. I wait until it gets down to 1 and then a message comes up that no agents available. I get out and go right back in and 6 in Que again. Last year when contract was up the price to renew went up. This year it looks like quite a bit. It appears that they get you in and then continue to raise the price.

Milo
January 24th, 2019

Hi Milo! All customers who sign up with us will receive a new customer promotions, similar to your initial experience. Once that promotional offer ends we will offer renewal options and plans that can allow you to still maintain a reduced bill. If you would like us to look into your offers please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account details. - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019

NO thank you. I contacted Direct Energy 3 times and each time I was told of a higher rate and I couldn't get a similar rate as the one I had at 0.78, I have moved on like a few others I know.

Milo Replies February 28th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Glad I switched

(5 / 5)

  I used to be a Reliant customer and finally got tired of being over charged, so I switched to Direct Energy and I am so glad I did.

Lisa
January 14th, 2019

Yay!! We are so glad you are apart of the DE family also. Hope you have a healthy and happy 2019 :) - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch Billing Practices

(2.6 / 5)

  Our electric bill more than doubled and for months we soul-searched to determine what we were doing to use so much power. Then I went online and looked at the rate we were paying vs. NYSEGs rate at the same time. We were regularly paying DE as much as 3X NYSEGs rate. So we switched back yesterday.

After speaking with NYSEG, we learned that DE lured us away from NYSEG a year ago or so into a slightly cheaper fixed-rate plan with a fixed term. We took the bait! Then when that term was up we were put on a sky-high variable rate. Had we stuck with NYSEGs low (and regulated) variable rate we woul have saved hundreds!

Bait and Switch Billing Tactics!
January 11th, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you have seen a price increase. We would be happy to review this further and work to locate a more affordable plan. Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account details and we would be happy to follow up. -Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy is GREAT!

(4.8 / 5)

  I've been w/Direct Energy for a few years now. Their plans & services are without a doubt, some of the best around. We're very pleased w/our ongoing rate of $0.0500 per kilowatt-hour is most competitive around. Their website is extremely user-friendly & customer service is outstanding. My ONLY complaint is the differences displayed online vs. paper bill. However, this primarily due to when I actually pay, a full week after the billing statement.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND DIRECT ENERGY AS AN EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR ELECTRICAL DISTRIBUTOR!

Tommy
January 2nd, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Tommy! Hope you have an amazing day. Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Generation only.

(4.6 / 5)

  Never any problems.

Good supplier & prices Repeat customer.
December 27th, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Hope you have an amazing day. Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good so far...

(4.8 / 5)

  I just started, but everything has been seamless so far. I dont even have to do anything to receive my echo dot! I have free weekends so with the kids home at that time, Im loving it!

Britney M.
December 21st, 2018

Thats great to hear Britney! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy thums up

(5 / 5)

  Great company, great prices, great plans, and on top of that, you can speak with a real person on the phone when you need assistance the most.
I've been using them for over 4 years, and never once I had an issue.
I moved 3 times while I had Direct Energy as a provider, and every single time, there were there to switch my service in no time (no issue)

Customer
December 20th, 2018

We appreciate you taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Have a great week! - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

customer service

(3.6 / 5)

  Cres was extremely helpful; answered all my questions and concerns.

Dolores
December 18th, 2018

Yay!! We will make sure he is recognized!! Thank you. - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions