All 1 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Public Power Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
UNHELPFUL
I was overcharged, did not receive my refund check. Its been over 6 weeks. I called multiple times spoke with multiple people. Not a single thing was solved with loose answers that beat around the question ! Supervisor was in a very long call and could not speak. SURPRISE! Absolutely pathetic.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

UNHELPFUL AND OVERCHARGE from Danielson, CT on May 12th, 2020
I would not recommend Public Power
We signed up for $.0699 rate for 33 months. 8 months later they lost track of our credit card for the $14.95 month fee for their service. 2 months after that, they said they left a voicemail message that we didn't get. 4 months after that they said they left another voicemail message that we did not get. 3 months later our rate doubled to $.12490 per kWh. They said that since we didn't answer their voice mail messages, that put us in default. No email message was received, only "voicemail messages". We get voice mail messages every day and we answer them. They did not call our number and did not notify us that we went into the default rate which was double our agreed to rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Public Power Is Not A Good Player from Madison, CT on December 23rd, 2019
Will never use Public power again
I never write negative reviews, but I think in this case its worth it. Do yourself a favor and dont use these guys. I was in contract with them and had a decent rate for a year, contract ended and then they shot me up to the highest rate they possibly could (higher than the highest any other provider had and higher than the standard rates by the Eversource). I didn't cancel in time, which is my fault so I ate the cost, didn't complain and paid the bill. The day I received that bill I called them and cancelled which was almost 4 weeks before my next meter read. A month later I get a bill (with Public Power being the provider) with that same insanely high rate. I called them and they said it could take 1-2 billing cycles to remove me from their billing. Long story short, they are holding me hostage to this rate until they decide to get to my name on a list and work with Eversource to remove me. I spoke to customer service and management and they wont do anything for me and keep telling me its their policy. Lets be honest, its an administration issue. They will get to your cancellation when they get to it, thus the 1-2 month policy. In my opinion, this is terrible business and a terrible way to treat customers. There is no reason why this process cant be expedited, b/c customers shouldn't be held hostage to your ridiculous rates if they are out of contract and ask to be removed within a reasonable amount of time from the next meter read.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anthony Collazo from Manchester, CT on March 6th, 2019
They gave me the wrong price
They took away the offer before it was activated. I could had used the time to sign with a different provider. Very disappointed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Bristol, CT on September 17th, 2018
Disappointing
After signing up I was told I had to pay $159 fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disappointing from Orange, CT on September 16th, 2018
Odd experience
I received a phone call one month after signing up for a rate and they told me the website had a glitch the day I signed up and didnt bill me the $150 sign up fee. There was no notification of a sign up fee when I registered. They said I had to pay it or they would cancel. I let them cancel. No written notification either just a phone call. Sounded like a scam to me
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Odd Experience from Darien, CT on September 16th, 2018
Watch the fine print
I signed on for service. After signing I received notification that there was an an added charge. So much for the good price. I cancelled the service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elly from Tolland, CT on September 14th, 2018
Never Choose Public Power
I signed on with PP in May expecting to be on line by June 30. Recieved a bill from my existing provider mid July at twice rate that I had been paying.Called PP as to why they had not followed through with the planned switch.They said information was incomplete.They failed to contact me,as a result I'm stuck with an inflated electric bill. Their business follow up stinks. DO NOT EVER CHOOSE PP AS A SUPPLER.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dan Zaicek from Ashford, CT on July 20th, 2018
Bate and switch plans!
We signed up for a 12 moth plan at 7.98% and received an acknowledgement letter but it NEVER went into effect and for 3 months+ we were paying a 12.49% rate instead. They blamed it on Eversource but they said it was Public Power's error. When we called to complained they only would offer us a 6 month plan at 8.56% which we were forced to take to get out of the 12%+ we were paying. One rep said he would see if he could get us a reumbursement for the months we paid 12%+ but he never called back or returned our call. We have filed a complaint with the CT Public Utilities Regulatory Agency and await their assistance in this matter. As soon as our 6 month plan is up with them we will find another supplier and nevr use them again!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

B & L In Danbury from Danbury, CT on July 16th, 2018
Bait & switch artists. AVOID, AVOID, AVOID
TERRIBLE COMPANY! ! Sucker you with competitive rate then slam you with 300% increase. Any questiins and instead of a rep you hear from their lawyer. Something very wrong with this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Captain BullDog Thal from Old Greenwich, CT on November 10th, 2017


All Public Power Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
VS. Eversource (formerly CL&P)
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
8.79¢ / kwh
  • Rates are for new customers only
  • 5 Month Fixed Rate
    5 month
    Fixed Rate
    7.59¢ / kwh
    9.5% under market rate
    Compared to the current Eversource (formerly CL&P) rate of 8.390¢ / kwh
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    9.09¢ / kwh
  • Rates are for new customers only
  • Great Short Term Value
    7 month
    Fixed Rate
    7.39¢ / kwh
    11.9% under market rate
    Compared to the current Eversource (formerly CL&P) rate of 8.390¢ / kwh
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    7.49¢ / kwh
    10.7% under market rate
    Compared to the current Eversource (formerly CL&P) rate of 8.390¢ / kwh
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    8.99¢ / kwh
  • Rates are for new customers only